Cobbler Adventures Continue!

Boy I love summer. It’s given me time to work on two of my addictions: listening to audiobooks and then also having to figure out something to do while listening to said audiobook. Thus:

Mittens!

And no, not Iron Man…

gryffindor-header

GRYYYYYYYYFFINDOOOOOOOR

 

Anyway, here’s the link I used if you’re interested in making your own mittens: Easy Beginner Crochet Mittens.

I recently read Ready Player One on audiobook and am currently super into Simon and the Homo Sapiens Agenda, so I really just need something to do with my time. I also organized all my embroidery floss, because hey. It’s nice to be organized.

BACK TO COBBLER! As you all know or could easily find out by clicking this link (Mini Peach Cobblers), I experimented with cobbler last week and it didn’t really turn out quite like I was hoping. Having said that, I am not a cobbler connoisseur, so that’s quite a claim for me to be making. This week, we are trying the cake crust variety of cobbler! Fear not, though, if this doesn’t work out, there’s still the pie crust variety. And then also the cake with the fruit on top, rather than the cake on top. So many places to go from here! Also, buckles, brambles, and pandowdies.

First things first, a few notes. I seriously upped the salt content by 1/2 a tsp, because last time, you may recall, the biscuit topping super wasn’t salty enough and I got salty about it. Secondly, I added a dash of nutmeg to the cake because yum. You don’t have to. I also used a mixture of peaches and nectarines because that’s what I had on hand. Any stone fruit would do and I honestly see no harm in mixing stone fruits. There are some out there who are purists, and there are others, like me, who think that as long as fruit is in the same relative category (stone, citrus, tropical, berries…crunchy? I don’t know, how would you describe the apple/pear/quince family?), then it’s all well and good! As is often said by wiser heads than mine: “if it grows together, it goes together.”

Verdict: Better! But still not quite what I’m looking for. Husband suggests streusel topping next. Salt content good! Could up the vanilla content, or perhaps have a little almond extract. It got a little browner than I would have liked but it tastes great! A lot cobblier, in my opinion.

IMG_0372

Cobbler with a Cake Crust

  • Time: 1 hr 20 min.
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • approx. 1-2 lbs fruit of your choice (I had three peaches and two nectarines)
  • 1 cup sugar (half for the fruit, half for the cake)
  • 1 tsp cornstarch
  • Lemon juice
  • 8 tbsps (1 stick, 4 oz) butter
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk or plain yogurt
  • 1 cup AP flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • approx. 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • dash of nutmeg

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350° and grease an 8 X 8 pan.
  2. Cut your fruit into bite-sized pieces and place in a bowl. Add the half cup sugar, the cornstarch, and a squirt of lemon; stir and set aside.
  3. In a mixing bowl, beat together the butter and other half cup of sugar until smooth. Add the buttermilk, AP flour, baking soda & powder, salt, vanilla extract, and dash of nutmeg. Stir until smooth. The batter should be pretty stiff.
  4. Pour the fruit into the prepared pan and spoon the cake batter over the top. Be sure to lick your spoon clean.
  5. Bake for 55-60 minutes, putting aluminum foil over the top about halfway through to make sure it doesn’t get crispy and burnt on the top.
  6. Enjoy, preferably with ice cream or whipped cream.

IMG_0373
One last gloriously gooey picture.

 

Leave a Reply

