Mini Peach Cobblers

I know. Three words that really say, “summer indulgence”. Summer is definitely my favorite season for fruit — it’s stone fruit season! Oh sure, I love autumn/winter fruit — apples, pears, citrus — and autumn/winter fruit recipes — apple pies, pumpkin pie, candied pears — but it’s summer that I really crave. Cherries, peaches, plums, pluots, nectarines, apricots, melons.. Oh God I love it. I eat myself silly on summer fruit. It’s usually just me, a book, and a big ol’ bag o’ cherries. Ugh. Heaven.

Therefore, it’s time to start making stuff! The possibilities are endless! So, obviously, the first thing I made was sangria. Yummmmmmm. Okay, focus, Karen. The second thing? Peach cobbler.

My husband is not the biggest fan of dessert. Ironic, right? My whole blog is based around baking and desserts, and he’s not the biggest fan. Sigh. He’s more of a candy guy. BUT, there are a few he really likes. He likes the fruit-filled desserts, especially: pie and cobbler. So, I guess sometime in between the cakes, brownies, and cookies, I’d better bake something for him one of these days, eh?

IMG_0364

A few notes: this was not as traditional of a cobbler as I think I had in mind. I made it with a biscuit crust, and while it was good, it wasn’t what I was envisioning. I think I need to try the cake crust to get what I’m thinking of. Secondly, the biscuit crust was NOT salty enough. Therefore the dessert was really kind of one-note. I would up the salt content. I checked out the regular biscuit recipe and it called for a whole teaspoon of salt! Not this measly quarter teaspoon of salt nonsense. My husband also said he thought the peaches weren’t sweet enough and I thought they were too sweet, so that happened. I vote I’m right. *wink*

Also, be aware of what kind of peaches you buy. Living in Arizona is great for many food-related things: chiles, best Mexican food in the US (don’t try me), citrus fruit (and the other C’s of Arizona: cattle, copper, cotton and climate)… But we don’t necessarily have the abundance of fruit choices I’d like. I like fruit stands in CA, OR, and WA best, where there’s a wide variety of locally-grown fruit and there’s a bunch of varieties a city-slicker like myself has rarely encountered. In a fruit stall like that (or even just a grocery store in a fruitier locale, no pun intended), there’s three or four different varieties of peaches. If you are that lucky, make sure to get the peaches that are easy to get away from the pit. If you’re like me and live in a place where your local grocery store sells “peaches” and “white peaches,” you’re out of luck and should not try to get those bad boys off the pit. Instead, slice around the pit like you would an apple around its core.

IMG_0363

BUT, this was super quick, easy, and tasty. If you need something dessert-y, summer-y, and taste-y, this is a sure bet. I made half the called-for amount of peach filling and the entire amount of biscuit, so that I could have extra biscuits. I also did this because the whole biscuit recipe calls for one egg, and I didn’t see a good way to do a half an egg without having to do all kinds of other baking gymnastics.

Mini Peach Cobblers

  • Time: 1.5 hrs total
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

For Half-Serving Peach Filling:

  • 1 lb peaches (about 5 medium small peaches)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 hearty squeeze of lemon juice

For Whole Serving Biscuits (To Top and Make Extra!):

  • 2 1/3 cups AP flour
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt (I’d up this to 1/2, if I were you)
  • 4 tbsps butter
  • 1 cup buttermilk*
  • 1 egg

*I did not have buttermilk, so I did the old trick of squirt some lemon juice into regular milk and let it sit for a bit.

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Prepare your peaches. Wash and slice 1 lb of peaches and put aside in a bowl. On top, sprinkle the white sugar, cornstarch, and lemon juice. Stir with a spoon and allow to sit. (Note: I also did not skin the peaches, because I was concerned I wasn’t going to have enough, so I didn’t want to lose any valuable peach product.)
  2. In another bowl, mix together your dry ingredients. Cut the butter into the dry ingredients with your hands until it resembles cornmeal.
  3. In a third bowl, whisk together your (butter)milk and egg. Pour into the dry ingredients and mix with a spoon for about twenty seconds until it forms a very stick, very rough dough.
  4. Turn the dough out onto a floured surface and knead a few times to make cohesive. Once it’s cohesive, gently roll into a ball then roll out. Begin cutting out biscuits with a biscuit cutter.
  5. In ramekins, spoon your peach mixture. I got four ramekins worth out of my peach mixture. You don’t need to put in the extra juice leftover at the bottom of the bowl because your peaches will juice up plenty in the oven.
  6. Place a biscuit on top of each peach-filled ramekin. I put all four ramekins on a small cookie sheet, just so it was easier to get them in an out of the oven. Bake until the tops are brown and the peaches are bubbling, about 30-40 minutes. Bake your other biscuits simultaneously for about 10-15 minutes.
  7. Allow mini peach cobblers to cool down just enough for you to not destroy your mouth with flames, then enjoy thoroughly.

FullSizeRender 2

Leave a Reply

