Cookie Jar!

It finally happened! I got a cookie jar! I’ve been waiting very, very patiently (I promise!) to get a cookie jar that I really, really wanted. I’ve seen foxes, owls, I wish I’d seen a robot, and none of them seemed quite right. Today, I found it. A honeybee cookie jar. It reminds me of Winnie-the-Pooh. Dear old Winnie’s always getting into something he shouldn’t, namely the hunny pot. Isn’t a cookie jar the same thing, essentially?

winniethepoohweb_2761410b

Uh huh. Yup. It is. Here is my gorgeous little cookie jar:

I. Freakin’. Love. It.

I am unreasonably excited to make cookies. As such, I have made three different varieties. Oh dear. YOU CAN’T JUST HAVE ONE. In fact, I accidentally ended up with 120+ cookies, but who’s counting? I have made:

Smitten Kitchen Snickerdoodles (why isn’t everything rolled in cinnamon sugar??)

FullSizeRender 23IMG_2972IMG_2973

Yes, my cookie jar IS fully of snickerdoodles. Glad you asked.

Smitten Kitchen Thick, Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies (my husband’s favorite. And with good reason. These cookies are the BOMB. I’m not even that big of a fan of oatmeal raisin — they look like chocolate chips and then they’re usually icky dried fruit. Guh. But when the raisins are soft in THIS recipe, it’s a knockout. Seriously. Make these cookies.)

Lemon Snaps (I didn’t have any more shortening, so I just used a stick of butter. Because butter. These are delightful. Not too lemony [because extract and not actual lemon], which was kind of nice. I made lemon sugar to go on top by mixing 1/4 cup sugar with a splash of lemon extract. I also only baked these for 6 min. instead of the prescribed 9-11 and they came out perfectly.)

IMG_2974

Hear me out on these choices, as well. You need a nice, sturdy cookie to put in a cookie jar. You can’t put something crumbly and sad in there. It has to be able to hold its own. All three of these cookies can hold their own. Additionally, the flavors are all different enough to be interesting. Tired of one type of cookie? It’s okay, there will be another type coming up soon! Further down the cookie jar! Just kidding, there’s only snickerdoodles in there, a.) because the others won’t fit and b.) I don’t actually like mixing flavors.

Now, if you will excuse me, I’m going to watch The Rescuers Down Under and eat cookies. I mean, make good life choices. Pshhhh, who am I kidding? Those two are the same.

Leave a Reply

