Quick and Dirty Brownies

Oh, brownies are the best. I love brownies. Who doesn’t? Weirdos. But with that said, I’ve had a lot of trouble with my brownies up here at high altitude. The process always seems too long, my brownies always seem overdone, and it just doesn’t seem worth it.

NOT ANYMORE.

This is it, guys. I’ve found it: the perfect brownie recipe. Thank you, King Arthur Flour Baker’s Companion.

To be fair, there have been some bum recipes, so I went other places to look for a brownie recipe first. Smitten Kitchen, of course, was a first place. I haven’t yet found one that really clicks with me. I made a nice fudgy one recently, but it was covered with a super-thick layer of coconut, condensed milk, slivered almonds, and drizzled chocolate. This recipe is exactly what I always wanted.

First things first: the book finally told me something I think I was missing out on. It said to bake the brownies at 375º for 35 minutes. When you put something in the middle, it’s supposed to come out chocolatey, not clean. I’ve been baking my brownies like cake for way too long!! This is a double exclamation point moment!! They are just the right amount of sweet, tall, fluffy, chocolatey, and chewy.

IMG_2887.JPG

Perfect Brownies

  • Servings: one 9 X 13 pan
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup + 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 1/3 cups flour

Directions:

  1. Melt the butter. I did this in a large bowl in a microwave, 1 minute at a time.
  2. Add the cocoa powder, sugar, salt, vanilla and eggs. Mix until incorporated.
  3. Add the flour and mix until just incorporate. Do not overmix.
  4. Pour into greased pan.*
  5. Bake at 375º for 35 minutes. Allow to cool for a few hours before trying to cut.

 

One thought on “Quick and Dirty Brownies

Leave a Reply

