Superb Owl Baking Day

2016 has been odd so far. It’s been full of really crazy happenings — high moments, low moments, incredible stress and anxiety — and it’s only mid-February. Yikes. Fortunately, I have a four-day weekend coming up, so at least there’s that. You can plan right now on finding me on Friday, sitting on my couch all day, literally doing nothing but reading and drinking coffee.

But in the meantime, it’s time to get cracking! I have all kinds of things to do today! I don’t care about the Superbowl, but I do care about Superb Owls.

Owls are basically amazing. LOOK HOW CUTE THEY ARE. JUST LOOK.

But I don’t care about football. If I care about a sport, it’s hockey. Because blood, fighting, and insane athletic skills. Having said that, I care about baking! So watch me bake.

On the bill for today:

  • Orange frozen yogurt
  • Breakfast sandwiches (hey, a girl’s gotta eat breakfast)
  • Sliced chicken for lunches this week
  • Lunch (leftover salad, haha)
  • Dinner (leftover dip)
  • Grapefruit poppyseed loaf cake
  • Orange poppyseed muffins
  • Harvest muffins

Frozen yogurt: no problem. See Previous Post

Breakfast sandwiches: no problem.

Sliced chicken: no problem.

Lunch: more delicious than expected. But that’s what happens when you add melted cheese.

Harvest muffins: oooooooooooooops.

Despite the fact that I myself wrote down the recipe and have done this recipe before, today’s muffin undertaking was a grand disaster! And yet still so tasty! I added a half a cup of wheat germ instead of a half of cup of wheat bran. Then I added the wheat bran. Hahaha. So I chose to up the content of buttermilk by half a cup (also to use up the rest of my buttermilk) and add in another egg. Then, when I ate one hot of the oven and it was kind of savory, I wondered if I had forgotten anything else. LO AND BEHOLD, I had forgotten an entire CUP of packed brown sugar. Holy moly. Apparently not my day for a decent showing at following a recipe. My husband has chosen to call them “odd” and not exactly give a sterling review. I have chosen to love them for what they are, a more savory cousin of the regular harvest muffin that is probably healthier, given the facts that I took out a whole cup of sugar and added wheat germ. Nevertheless, I think I’ll be sticking to the recipe next time. Harvest Muffins

Grapefruit loaf cake: I think I might go with another recipe next time. The batter really tasted of the olive oil. I understand that olive oil is “healthier” in the public mind than butter, but butter probably would have made this whole thing better. Likewise, I added two regular eggs instead of one egg and two whites because a.) I did not have that many eggs left and b.) I don’t actually care if it’s too much healthier by subbing some egg whites in there instead of a regular egg. Because this isn’t a chiffon cake or a meringue (which explicitly needs like whipped egg whites to lighten it all up). It’s calling for egg white to reduce calories and egg yolk “badness”. Psshhhh whatever.

Citrus Poppyseed Loaf Cake

  • Servings: 8-10 slices
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients – Loaf Cake

  • 1.5 cups AP flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • zest of one citrus fruit (or two, if it’s small like limes…I used one grapefruit) and a healthy squeeze of the juice
  • 1/2 cup low-fat, plain yogurt, Greek or otherwise (again, full-fat = more delicious but low-fat=less calories)
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp poppy seeds

Ingredients – Glaze

  • 1.5 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 tbsps grapefruit juice
  • 2 tbsps milk

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350° and grease a loaf pan, either with butter or cooking spray.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt.
  3. In another medium bowl (the bigger of the two, I recommend), whisk together your sugar and the zest from your citrus fruit.
  4. Whisk in the yogurt, milk, eggs, vanilla extract, olive oil, healthy squeeze of juice, and poppyseeds.
  5. Add the dry ingredients and whisk until fully combined (always be careful not to overwhisk).
  6. Pour into prepared pan and bake for 45-50 min. (says original recipe…mine was done in 30 and sunken in the middle, which I attribute to the lack of egg white but I don’t actually know anything about chemistry so oh well) until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.
  7. Turn out onto a cooling rack to cool. When cool, mix together the glaze ingredients in a bowl.
  8. Drizzle glaze over cooled cake.

FullSizeRender 5.jpg

Last but not least, orange poppyseed muffins. This recipe said it made twelve muffins but I did not really manage to get a full twelve. I got eleven, including one sad one that didn’t manage to get poppyseeds in it, either, because I forgot to add them in and refused to put that one muffin back because I didn’t want to waste grease. Because I also ran out of muffin cups so I had to just grease my muffin tin. Because this is the weekend of running out of stuff. I was low on heavy cream (so no actual ice cream), eggs, butter… Sigh. It has been a weekend of experimentation! I think these muffins will do well, though. I will say that the directions weren’t super clear, and so my butter came out rather lumpy. Next time I am going to cream my butter and sugar first, then add the rest of my ingredients. Secondly, you will think that the recipe is wrong. There is NO WAY we would be baking these at 450º! No, but really. But my baking time was really short. 8-9 minutes and they were just about finished. They domed up really nicely, too. Husband’s review: “Quite tasty, but doesn’t putting icing on it make it more of a cupcake than a muffin?” He clearly didn’t see the amount of frosting. It’s a glaze. I swear. Also, on the glaze, I used only about half of what they suggested in terms of the butter, cream cheese, and powdered sugar, but probably the same amount in juice and I added some zest.

citrus poppyseed muffins

  • Servings: ~a dozen
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients – Muffins

  • 1 1/3 cups AP flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup butter (4 tbsps)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • zest of 2 small citrus fruits or 1 larger one (I did 1.5 oranges)
  • 1 tbsp citrus juice
  • 3/4 cup plain yogurt (Greek or otherwise)
  • 1 tbsp poppyseeds

Ingredients – Glaze

  • 2 tbsps butter (softened)
  • 2 oz cream cheese (softened)
  • 3-4 cups powdered sugar
  • zest
  • 1-2 tsps juice

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 450º (I swear). Grease a muffin tin or line it with muffin cups. In a medium bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients.
  2. In another bowl (the bigger of the two mediums), cream together butter, sugar, eggs, vanilla, the zest and juice, and the yogurt. Add the dry ingredients and mix until combined. Gently mix in the poppyseeds.
  3. Divide among the pan, filling each about 2/3 of the way full, aiming to get 12 out of the bowl of batter (if you don’t, it’s sad but okay).
  4. Bake for 12-16 minutes (10 if it’s my oven) until a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool on a wire rack.
  5. When muffins are cool, mix together the glaze ingredients to desired consistency. Mine was nice and thick, so I put mine in a ziplock bag, cut off one corner, and pipped it awkwardly onto my muffins. The half amount was just perfect for a nice, thick drizzle.

FullSizeRender 6
Mmmm dat icing schmear.
IMG_2652
Nice domed tops!
Leave a Reply

