Frozen Yogurt

As I may have mentioned before, I am an ice cream fiend.

You may remember this from a very long series of blog entries where I verbally drooled over its inexplicable but unparalleled deliciousness. Well, don’t fret, reader, I haven’t given up my love of ice cream! But in a world where ice cream sometimes beckons a little too fervently (I seem to recall at least one afternoon where I ate two portions instead of one under the pretense of “it’s not really enough for two bowls” even though it definitely was), I have been seeking out lighter yet equally palatable options.

I have turned to the grand world of frozen yogurt.

And I’m enjoying myself thoroughly. First off, I don’t have to actually cook it. That’s really nice. And since the yogurt has already been chilling in the refrigerator, I don’t really have to let it chill before I spin it. Simply whisk all the ingredients together and go! So far, though, reader, I have only experimented with my favorite flavor: citrus. I think my favorite really is lime with a hint of cardamom, but lemon has been exquisite and I’m about to taste my first batch of grapefruit ice cream. You may also remember my obsession with grapefruit. I mean, I love all citrus, but there is nothing quite like homegrown citrus and there is nothing quite like backyard grapefruit. My favorite! Not to mention, I went down to Phoenix this past weekend and my mother sent me home with two bags of citrus from my grandma’s trees. You guessed it! One bag grapefruit, one bag… orange! Next up: orange frozen yogurt! (Side note: I just took a lick as I was checking on my churning batch…ooh mama. I got all the grapefruit flavor in one lick and it was perfect. Also, the flavor intensifies as it sits in the freezer, getting hard. Be aware, it’s hard to keep it soft, though.)

I have several legitimate reasons for picking citrus, though, I promise. The first is that it’s really easy. If I were to make a berry frozen yogurt, I would probably need to do a puree or cook the berries down in some way, almost making a jam. Then, I would definitely need to let everything chill. With citrus, a quick zest and squeeze and Bob’s your uncle. Plus, citrus pairs perfectly with chocolate, and I can’t quite seem to let go of my chocolate syrup addiction. (My mom likes to tell a story that my aunt was so freaked out when she heard I was being born, she went to the fridge and took a glug of chocolate syrup to calm herself down. We like chocolate in my family.) It has always been a necessity when eating ice cream and I hate it when I eat an ice cream that doesn’t pair well with chocolate syrup. Every citrus is complimented by chocolate! So it’s quite the win-win.

Additionally, I have done all the major experimenting for you! I have a basic recipe from David Lebovitz I use and I have tweaked it and tweaked it until I’ve gotten it how I like. Sadly, how I like it is how he said to do it. I tried less sugar but it came out super hard. The last time I tried this (orange), I did the full amount of sugar but tried to churn it a little less and actually put the parchment paper on the tub like Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream always suggests. I shall keep experimenting and add notes as they come along.

Tangy Frozen Yogurt

  • Servings: 1 pint
  • Time: 5 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 32 oz container of full-fat yogurt (preferably Greek, but not necessarily)
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • zest of the citrus fruit (2 lemons, 1 orange, 1 grapefruit, 2 limes, depending on which type of citrus you’re using…please don’t do the zest of all six fruits at once!)
  • 1/4 cup citrus juice
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • pinch of salt

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a big bowl.
  2. Whisk.
  3. Spin in ice cream container.
  4. No, I’m not kidding. That easy.

Freeze for a few hours and then enjoy! Sometimes I don’t spin it quite how I like and it gets a tad hard, but thirty seconds in the microwave will make it just soft enough to spoon out and thoroughly enjoy. I heartily, heartily recommend putting chocolate syrup on top. Because nothing goes together quite as well as citrus frozen yogurt and chocolate.

One thought on “Frozen Yogurt

Leave a Reply

