National Doughnut Day!

There is nothing like a fresh, warm doughnut.  I love them — cake, glazed, frosted, sprinkled, cream, and jelly-filled. . .but conversely, there is nothing worse than a bad doughnut.  A good doughnut is soft, moist, a beautiful cross between bread and cake.  They come in such a wide variety; there’s something for everyone! A bad doughnut is dry, crumbly, and bland.  The only problem with doughnuts is that if you don’t get it fresh from the fryer right then or know that it’s made fresh that day (or sometimes if it’s even just sat out for a while in your staff lounge), you grab one expecting that pastry bliss and end up with a mouth full of disappointment.  Blech.

So today is National Doughnut Day. I missed National Pancake Day and also National Sticky Bun Day, so I figured I would make up for it for Doughnut Day.  Plus, we have one actual doughnut shop in my town, and it’s a Dunkin.  The only way you get a free doughnut there today is still if you buy something, and their doughnuts are fine, but homemade is always better!

I do have a couple of limitations, though.  First off, I’m going to bake my doughnuts today to make them a teensy bit healthier (and also less messy — I just cleaned the whole kitchen yesterday), by baking them instead of frying them.  Though my taste buds might miss the delectableness of fat, I’m sure my thighs won’t.  Secondly, I don’t have a doughnut cutter or pan, so I’m essentially going to make doughnut holes in my muffin tin.  I say that while that shape is one of the classic aspects of a doughnut, it’s really more about the taste.

But when it comes to taste, it doesn’t mean you should get boring!

So today I made a strawberry buttermilk baked doughnut with cinnamon, nutmeg, and cardamom in the dough and a vanilla glaze to top it all off.

FullSizeRender 70  FullSizeRender 69

But why stop there?

I also made a chocolate doughnut.

IMG_2008

IMG_2011

The strawberry are a little more moist than perhaps I would have liked because strawberries tend to release a little of their water into the batter, but I tried to offset that by sugaring them first, so it’s not so bad and the flavor is very nice.  The chocolate is EXACTLY what I would expect that cakey baked doughnut to taste like.  I also added a hint of cinnamon and nutmeg to the chocolate ones.  Yum.  The only problem is: these were so easy.  What’s to stop me from making these all the time??

Recipes:

Baked Chocolate Doughnuts

Basic Baked Doughnut Recipe

Leave a Reply

